top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLinnéa Jacobsson

Interpretation

We were given two texts to read "The cares of a family man - Franz Kafka" and "Molly sucking-stones". The idea is to interpret them in our own way and how we see the text from our perspective. It was interesting in class to see how different everyone was thinking and reflecting on the same two texts.


I started by reading "The cares of a family man - Franz Kafka" and commented on the different paragraphs. At first, I thought that this thing Odradek was an uncertainty. I am not sure of what it is and the further I read into the text I feel like it is something that may or may not be perfect, which made me think about what is actually perfect. There is no such thing as perfect, it is different to everyone. In the fourth paragraph, the writer talks about how it comes and goes in its own time then goes into the last section of if it will go in generations to come. While reading this I had some thoughts about how to represent this in a simple way visually. That is how I came up with the drawing above. The circles represent how it can be perfect in different ways along with how it comes and goes.


We chose seven words to use to make a collaborative drawing. My words were:

  • Uncertainty

  • Varied

  • Colours

  • Perfectly

  • Lurks

  • Questions

  • Aim

I chose these words because I thought they reflected the text very well.

The collaborative drawing itself was fun to make. You could see how different evryone is thiking but somehow it all came together to one coherent peice of drawing.


"Molly sucking-stones" The first thought I got while reading this text was "Who would like to put some stones in their mouth? That is not hygienic and the teste must be disgusting." As I continued reading was a little confused with the system that the person was creating. Then I was thinking that the story is a bit about how the person is thinking outside the box and tries to come up with new systems Try and fail to achieve what you want. Towards the end, I get the feeling that the process of how he reached the solution was more important than the actual finish line.


I also chose 7 words from this text:

  • Replaced

  • Circulation

  • Extraordinary

  • Sacrificing

  • Principle

  • Solutions

  • Abandoned

Unfortunately, I couldn't join the class for the next part but I will do it later.


We also had an exercise where we were supposed to look at everything in the room for 2 minutes then close our eyes and draw what we can remember and also then what we can hear or notice while having our eyes closed. In my drawing, there are a few clear elements like the squares representing the tables and ceiling light as well as the circles representing all the people in the room. I noted some noises like the scribbling from my classmates, birds, and cars outside. But also things that were brought to my attention like the fumes from the car and the particles in the air. The very dark scribbles are where I sat and that is supposed to represent the darkness I see when I close my eyes and the curved lines represent how I sat.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Thesis Thoughts 2

To continue my previous thoughts in Thesis Thoughts 1 I want to think more about the methods I can use. I really enjoyed creating my long...

Comments


bottom of page