top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLinnéa Jacobsson

Furniture 1

For Thursday the 2nd of November we got the task to find a piece of furniture to use in the workshop to redo in some way. On my hunt for a good piece of furniture, I saw some unique objects but nothing of solid wood (and at a good price and something that I wouldn't feel bad to take apart and redo). I found one table that I felt like I could use, of solid pine wood. I saw later that the table had an IKEA label underneath and the piece is called INGO. That is a series of pine furniture.



I felt like the table already had a story to it with the darker square in the middle, I wondered if someone had something warm there, maybe a hot pastry dish or a candle. Then I think it must have gotten wet somehow with all the marks around the dark spot. Maybe it was left outside or someone spilt some water there. On the other hand, I think it isn't only about what the object can tell from its own story but what I feel and relate it to. My own experiences and stories are awakened when I look at the table. For me, it is a strong connection to family, home and Sweden. My grandparents always had pine furniture and their whole cabin was pine from head to toe, that is where I spent a lot of my time during all of my life. So this table has its own history but I can bring back my own history within it as well.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Thesis Thoughts 2

To continue my previous thoughts in Thesis Thoughts 1 I want to think more about the methods I can use. I really enjoyed creating my long...

Comments


bottom of page