top of page
Search

The Imbalanced Dress Fashion Show

I wanted to capture the dress from different angles to understand how it looks and sits on me. The photos represent the imbalanced dress in a good way because you see how it goes up and down. The darkness emphasises the dress and the human in the middle.


This video shows four different sequences, where you can see how I take the dress from the stand and put it on, how it looks when you walk with it as well as how you take it off. The dress moves a bit when I walk but nothing major, by my careful moves, I can control how it stays on me. At the end of the video I tried to spin with the dress and you can see that it has its own will according to how I move. The shoulder piece gets pulled off with help from centrifugal force and the angle my shoulder gets when I spin. By my facial expression, you can see that was an unanticipated action. By the set of actions the way it behaves changes.


It is also safe to say that it controls my movement and restricts me in how I can move and behave in it. That brings me back to my inspiration for the dress. In THIS blog post, I come up with the idea for the imbalanced dress. In Chapter 1 pages 10-13, I thought that humans try to control everything as much as they can. I also say "Is humans the centre of these things? It is with my mind I give life to non-human objects life?" with this dress it becomes clear in one way. Metaphorically (in this case literally) humans are the centre and I did give life to this non-human object. But the dress that represents, nature, animals and non-human objects controls me more than I can control it. I have to work within the frames of everything else on this planet. I can be free to do whatever but the dress will respond to what I do, just as the planet will respond to my actions on it.


The whole idea of this dress links back to many of the pages that I read from Jane Bennetts - Vibrant Matter. I just want to mention the final paragraph as well Chapter 2 pages 36-38. "The non-human happenings interconnected with humans can't put full responsibility on individuals for their effects and that is what vibrant matter presents."



8 views0 comments

Komentar


bottom of page